FREE Shipping



RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


Sedgwick has this ability to create atmosphere in only a few sentences where other authors need paragraphs upon paragraphs (if they manage it at all). They were very short, and as such, provided something of a masterclass in how to pack lots of emotion and mystery into very few words. Then the story began to unfold and Marcus Sedgwick swept you away with a love story that defies time and logic.

Finally, I should mention how perfectly eerie and fitting the setting of Blessed Island is, with its hidden population, its mysterious hidden side, and its dragon-like flower that holds the secret to youth and life. Once I got about 50 pages into MIDWINTERBLOOD, I was hooked and read the rest of the book – it’s rather short, just so you know – in one sitting. The novel in its entirety is the story of two lovers, each born again in seven different incarnations on the same small island, struggling to find each other and achieve some kind of happiness together across the centuries.

Although the setting – a small, mysterious island – is the same throughout and so are the set of the protagonists (well, sort of), each story reads different from one another – they could be entirely independent had it not been for the ever-present feeling that they are not. He used to play for two bands namely playing the drums for Garrett and as the guitarist in an ABBA tribute group. He has published novels such as Floodland (winner of the Branford Boase Award in 2001) and The Dark Horse (shortlisted for The Guardian Children's Book Award 2002).

It only took about a page before I was sucked into the story; the novel is very intriguing and once you start you won’t want to put it down. Midwinterblood is an acquired taste, for I think not many readers will be inclined to claim it as a favorite. I’m not going to tell you what Midwinterblood is about because I think it’s a book you should go into blind.

The Unquiet Grave is a quietly sad and slightly unnerving ghost story; The Airman is a story of bravery in the Second World War concerning a downed pilot and a family who protect him; The Archaeologist is a story of a struggling group of archaeologists finding something which could make their careers; The Vampire is a dark and primal Gothic tale; The Painter is a quietly beautiful story about a friendship and the final story Midwinterblood explains the plot of everything that has happened so far. Also recommended for fans of the time-crossing elements of Cloud Atlas, as well as the crazy fun of The Wicker Man.

If you want something new, dark, and luminously beautiful with sensory imagery and language that will make your skin crawl, "Midwinterblood" is most definitely your book. He wonders about them all, all the many lives that have been, and that will be, and wonders why they are not all the same, why they are what they are. Recommended for: fans of Monstrous Beauty, When the Sea is Rising Red, and other dark literary YA, and for adults who may want to try out some quality young adult fiction. They are not always born as lovers – once they are siblings, once they are mother and son, and so on – but they always find a way to be with each other, somehow. This novel comprises seven short stories and travels in time, from 2073 back to the days of Viking sagas.But recently, I saw something interesting about his latest, Midwinterblood, just as a copy showed up in the mail and so I took it home to read.

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop